Thoughts On: The Flood Girls

I have something to confess. I picked up a new book and didn’t tell you. Worse, I’ve read it. Sorry.

Let me share something personal about books and me.

You know how on a Saturday night you find yourself dateless (again) and begin aggressively flipping channels on your TV? And you catch that show where a hillbilly is storing food and ammo in an underground bunker getting ready for the End Of Days? Well, I’m that hillbilly, only with books. I have this fear of not having a read readily available.

I purchased The Flood Girls by Richard Fifield roughly two weeks ago.

I’m not even sure why I waited this long before sharing. It’s not as if I was hiding it on purpose. I wasn’t crawling around the house clutching the book to my chest and murmuring “my precious.” I’m not a total freak.

OK. I’m lying. I am a total freak, and I know exactly why I haven’t shared: I hated the ending.

Maybe not the ending itself, more the absolutely tragedy in it.

Tragedy aside, the book was a good read. I lived in the Pacific Northwest for ten years and met people like the characters in this book, folks with an edge and a tender heart. Reading this book brought back many memories, both good and bad.

I may just be a sensitive guy, get too invested in the characters. Or maybe the end was that tragic. You will just have to read it and decide for yourself. However, you’ve been warned.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Curious Guy

Abhijeet's Blog

Mindfump.

Humour - Mental Health - Creativity

Joseph Sacco

Personal development focused on reaching greater levels of happiness.

RAY UNRAVELED

- craving self-control, but not just yet

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

BELLIS

suspenseful with a pencil

The Pointless Life.

My online diary of memories and moments.

The Walking Living

A gay man in LA...without a car...with a blog.

Sue's Reading Corner

where YA books are reviewed

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Viking Reviews

Book reviews and other gibberish.

thedrabble.wordpress.com/

Shortness of Breadth

How to blue

Un blog acerca mi vida personal sientete libre de juzgar.

Life Plan

Make Some History

Rachel Being Chatty

Now featuring 15% more sarcasm.

Life of a 20something

Dog mom by day, writer by night. The jaded life of an American 20something

Longshot Island

For the Modern Reader

