The Upside Of Unrequited: 1st Summer Reread

At eight years old I got served a sound bitch slap, with a side of wedding cake. It was my first experience with change, and I did not handle it well. Shit, did I mention I was eight?

The bride was my oldest sister. She was fifteen when I was born; my mother was forty-eight. Because of the age difference, my sister raised me. I became her Mexican Ken doll. I guess. I mean, she was a child herself.

Anyway, by that age, I knew she was my sister and not my mother. But, she continued to care for me, so I ran to her with all the drama of a spoiled child. (I was the baby boy in a large Mexican-American family- that is like finding the golden ticket in our culture.)

Then she got married, moved away, and my world came crashing in on me. Change sucks.

I think my childhood experience gave me a different perspective on The Up Side Of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli than most readers. This book is my first summer of 2017 reread. And for me, it’s all about accepting and adjusting to inevitable change.

Several topics could be the center point of this book. Love. Homophobia. Body issues. For me, it was the way change affected Cassie and Molly. It was a downer reading what these characters experienced having experienced something similar.

But all is well that ends well, particularly when a cute, sweet, geeky boyfriend is involved.

3 1/2 out of 5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Upside Of Unrequited: 1st Summer Reread

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Curious Guy

Abhijeet's Blog

Mindfump.

Humour - Mental Health - Creativity

Joseph Sacco

All about personal development, Buddhism, yoga, health, and mindfulness - Namaste

RAY UNRAVELED

- craving self-control, but not just yet

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

BELLIS

suspenseful with a pencil

The Pointless Life.

My online diary of memories and moments.

The Walking Living

A gay man in LA...without a car...with a blog.

Sue's Reading Corner

where YA books are reviewed

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Viking Reviews

Book reviews and other gibberish.

thedrabble.wordpress.com/

Shortness of Breadth

How to blue

Un blog acerca mi vida personal sientete libre de juzgar.

Life Plan

Make Some History

Rachel Being Chatty

Now featuring 15% more sarcasm.

Rebecca Lee

Your not so average beauty blogger.

Longshot Island

For the Modern Reader

